Skip to main content Buy Tickets

Board, Staff and Explorer's Council


Board and Staff

Executive Staff

Bryn Parchman 
President and Chief Executive Officer 

President and Chief Executive Officer Bryn Parchman first joined Port Discovery Children’s Museum as the Vice President of Marketing, and after assuming the role of Chief Operating Officer, was appointed President and CEO in 2003.  
A leader, volunteer, and advocate, Bryn brings experience in both the public and private sector with a strong emphasis in finance and marketing. During Bryn’s tenure, Port Discovery was named one of the Top 12 children’s museums in the country by Forbes. Bryn has championed the cause to make Port Discovery accessible to all children, especially those from the underserved and special needs communities. Bryn expanded the Museum’s Discovery Days program (when the Museum opens its doors for free for children with special needs) and initiated a partnership with PACT: Helping Children with Special Needs, an affiliate of Kennedy Krieger Institute. As a result of this unique partnership, Port Discovery was recognized with the children’s museum industry’s highest award, the MetLife Promising Practice Award in 2009 as well as the 2010 Replication Award which resulted in the launch of an online toolkit for replicating this program in children’s museums across the country. In her commitment to providing access to children from economically disadvantaged communities, Bryn instituted the Family Access Program, which provides free museum memberships to underserved families, and lobbies for support so that Title 1 schools can receive free field trips to the Museum.  
Bryn earned her undergraduate degree from The Colorado College and her MBA from The Carlson School of Management/University of Minnesota. Prior to Port Discovery, Bryn held positions with Norwest Corporation (now Wells Fargo), The Martin Agency and Trahan, Burden and Charles. Bryn is actively involved with Network 2000 and is a member of the Visit Baltimore Cultural Tourism Advisory Committee and Institute for a Healthiest Maryland Advisory Board. Bryn also serves on the Board of Directors for the Association of Children’s Museums, Roland Park Country School, the Greater Baltimore Cultural Alliance , and the Community Resource Board of The Junior League .  
Bryn has been recognized as one of Maryland’s Top 100 Women by The Daily Record in 2012 and 2010 , was inducted into Smart CEO’s Brava! Hall of Fame in 2010 , and named an Enterprising Woman by The Baltimore Business Journal in 2008.  


Board of Directors

Dennis F. Rasmussen – Chair
President – The Rasmussen Group

Monica Brandes – Vice Chair
Senior Vice President – Bank of America

John Shmerler – Vice Chair
President – Radcliffe Jewelers

Mark Pollak, Esq. –Secretary
Partner – Ballard Spahr, LLP

Gordon M. Stetz, Jr. – Treasurer
Retired Chief Financial Officer
McCormick & Co., Inc.

Douglas L. Becker
Founder and Chairman – Laureate Education, Inc.
Founder and Partner – Sterling Partners

Stephen Canaras
Partner, Growth Markets - Assurance
Ernst & Young LLP 

William S. Corey, Jr.
Assurance & Senior Relationship Partner - PricewaterhouseCoopers

Daniel Fulmer
Vice President, Regional Marketing Manager – M&T Bank

Robert E. Gabrys, Ph.D.
Chief Educational Program Officer
NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center

Kathleen S. Hardway
Partner – Venable, LLP

Charlie Hatter
Owner - Prime Building Advantage & Monument Sotheby's International Realty​

Dana Henson
Vice President – The Henson Development Company

Anthony V. Imbraguglio
Vice President Finance, US Consumer Products Division
McCormick & Company

Carim V. Khouzami
Chief Financial Officer
Exelon Utilities

Matthew D. Klaiber
Principal – Miles & Stockbridge P.C.

Chad Lane
President – Allegis Global Solutions

Clarke Langrall, Jr.
President – Forecast Strategic Advisors

M. Gay G. Legg

Brooke Lierman
Maryland State House of Delegates

Jennifer B. Litchman, MA
Senior Vice President for External Relations
Special Assistant to the President
University of Maryland, Baltimore

William Palmer
Executive Vice President – Flavor & Fragrance Specialties, Inc.

Brice Phillips
Director, Club Store Sales, Phillips Foods, Inc.

Thomas S. Pilkerton III
Partner - DLA Piper

Teresa Payne-Nunn
Vice President and Chief Member Officer - Executive Leadership Council

Christopher J. Reid
Vice President, Ecommerce, US
Pandora Jewelry

Christopher S. Ripley
President & CEO – Sinclair Broadcast Group

Barbara Tachovsky

Jed Van Dyke
Vice President – Jacobs Connected Enterprise

Morry Zolet
Executive Director - The Zolet Lenet and Fink Group at Morgan Stanley


President’s Advisory Council

Kurt Schmoke – Chair
President – University of Baltimore

Anirban Basu
Chairman & CEO – Sage Policy Group

Nancy Grasmick, Ph.D
Co-Director – Kennedy Krieger Institute

Aris Melissaratos
Dean – Stevenson University Brown School of Business & Leadership

Janet Marie Smith
Sr. Vice President, Planning and Development
Los Angeles Dodgers

Michele Whelley
CEO - Economic Alliance of Greater Baltimore


Leslie Borenstein
Executive Vice President

Rick Williams
Vice President, Finance

Jennifer Bedon
Vice President, Development & Communication

Pat Hoge
Vice President of Education and Learning Innovation

David Berman
Director of Exhibits

Christopher Brown
Director of Guest Services

Abbi Ludwig
Director of Marketing

Segrid Pearson
Creative Director

Explorer's Council

Explorer's Council Members  

The Explorers Council is an auxiliary board that serves to further the mission of Port Discovery Children's Museum by engaging the next generation of patrons and volunteers to promote awareness of the Museum's service and impact in the greater Maryland area. Council members dedicate their time, resources, enthusiasm and social connections to achieve the goals of increasing public awareness, contributions and visitor attendance at Port Discovery Children's Museum. This Council provides networking opportunities for members as well as opportunities for "fun"draising. The Council allows socially responsible individuals the chance to give back to their community in a meaningful, enjoyable, and mutually beneficial way. Like the Explorers Council on Facebook!  

Elizabeth Greenblatt, Chair
Portfolio Manager – M&T Bank

Ben Ballard
Senior Institutional Marketing Strategist
Brown Advisory

Katie Beltz
Director of Client Services – Maryland Food Bank

Brian Bourne
Global Federal Account Director – Century Link

Christopher Burns
Associate – Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr

Peter Cardamone
Instructional Designer
American Psychological Association

Stanley Carignan
Attorney – State Farm

Jessica Chernyavsky
President – Xander Government Solutions

Angel Connolly
Vice President – The Columbia Bank

Kyle Goodwin
Product Owner – ClickNotices, Inc.

Tim Hartnett
Client Advisor – JP Morgan Chase

Thomas Kelley
Senior Manager – Workplace Design
COPT Development & Construction Services, LLC

Lindsay Machak
Director of Outreach & Marketing
The Waldorf School of Baltimore

Sharon Midgley
Senior Manager, Wholesale Strategy and Initiatives

Matthew Scales
Public Relations Specialist – Visit Maryland

Sean Sutherland
Director of Accounts – Kapowza

Debra Temple
Director, Human Resources and Global Talent Management
GP Strategies Corporation

Maja Tokic
Project Designer – Moseley Architects

Back to top